Skip to main content
    Skip to main content
    Self-employed & small business
    Payments made after December 31, 2025

    The 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC threshold is $2,000 for 2026, not $600

    Most of the web still says $600. For payments made after December 31, 2025, the general information-return threshold in IRC section 6041(a) is $2,000, nonemployee compensation follows that figure, and the amount is indexed from 2027. Two figures did not move, and the payee's duty to report income never depended on a form.

    Updated Reviewed for 2026 payments (forms filed in early 2027)IRS-sourced

    Do I have to file a 1099-NEC for a contractor I paid $600 in 2026?

    No. For payments made after December 31, 2025, Form 1099-NEC is required once a non-employee has been paid at least $2,000 in the calendar year, because P.L. 119-21 section 70433 replaced the $600 figure in IRC section 6041(a) with $2,000 and section 6041A ties nonemployee compensation to that figure. Gross proceeds paid to an attorney still start at $600 and royalties at $10. The threshold governs the payer's paperwork only; the payee reports the income with or without a form.

    • Payments made after December 31, 2025: Form 1099-NEC box 1a and Form 1099-MISC boxes 1 and 3 start at $2,000 per payee per calendar year.
    • Payments made in 2025 and earlier: the figure was $600, so forms for 2025 payments were still due on the old rule.
    • Unchanged: gross proceeds paid to an attorney (Form 1099-MISC box 10) at $600; royalties (box 2) at $10; direct sales for resale at $5,000.
    • From 2027: IRC section 6041(h) indexes the $2,000 figure and rounds increases to the nearest multiple of $100; the 2027 amount is not yet published.
    • Card, PayPal-for-business and other third-party-network payments are reported on Form 1099-K by the settlement entity, not on Form 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC.
    • New for 2026: Form 1099-NEC boxes 1b (cash tips), 1c (Treasury Tipped Occupation Code) and 1d (qualified overtime compensation).

    Source:IRC §6041(a), §6041(h), §6041A(a)(2); Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026)

    Do I have to file a 1099 for this payee?

    Answer for one payee and one payment type. The checker applies the statute's figure for the payment year and stops, naming the fact, wherever the rule needs something it does not have.

    Card and app payments go on the settlement entity's Form 1099-K, so only the direct payments count toward the threshold. A payee paid both ways can still need a Form 1099-NEC for the direct part.

    Threshold by payment type for 2026 payments

    PaymentForm and box2026 thresholdBasis
    Services by a non-employee (contractor, freelancer, gig worker)1099-NEC Box 1a$2,000IRC §6041A(a)(2), tied to the §6041(a) figure
    Attorneys' fees for legal services1099-NEC Box 1a$2,000IRC §6041A(a)(1); reportable even when the law firm is a corporation
    Rents1099-MISC Box 1$2,000IRC §6041(a)
    Prizes, awards and other income payments1099-MISC Box 3$2,000IRC §6041(a)
    Gross proceeds paid to an attorney (settlement checks)1099-MISC Box 10$600 (unchanged)IRC §6045(f); not changed by P.L. 119-21 §70433
    Royalties1099-MISC Box 2$10 (unchanged)Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC; not changed by P.L. 119-21 §70433
    Direct sales of consumer products for resale1099-MISC Box 7 checkbox (or Form 1099-NEC box 2)$5,000 (unchanged)Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC; not changed by P.L. 119-21 §70433

    Rows marked unchanged did not follow the $600-to-$2,000 move. Form 1099-K (card and app payments) is a separate statute with its own thresholds; see the 1099-K guide.

    What changed, and when

    The statute. IRC section 6041(a) requires a return for payments of $2,000 or more in any calendar year. The section's amendment notes record that P.L. 119-21 section 70433(a) substituted $2,000 for $600, and section 6041A(a)(2) now reads "equals or exceeds the dollar amount in effect for such calendar year under section 6041(a)" in place of the old $600 test, which is why nonemployee compensation moved with it.

    The effective date. The amendment applies to payments made after December 31, 2025. The test is the payment date, not the year the form is filed: a 2025 payment of $600 still generated a form in early 2026, while a 2026 payment of $600 does not.

    The IRS instructions. The December 2026 Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC state that for tax years beginning after 2025 the minimum threshold increased to $2,000 and may be adjusted for inflation beginning in calendar year 2027. The same instructions raise the backup-withholding trigger for those payments to the same figure. If you did backup-withhold from a payee, you must file the form for that payee regardless of the amount of the payment.

    Indexing. Section 6041(h) increases the figure for calendar years after 2026 by the cost-of-living adjustment and rounds any increase to the nearest multiple of $100. A small first adjustment can therefore round to zero, so the 2027 figure is unknown until the revenue procedure is published.

    Four traps

    The stale $600 rule. Search results, bookkeeping templates and many vendor onboarding forms were written under the old figure. A payer who files on the $600 rule for 2026 payments files forms that were not required, and a payer who assumes the new figure covers 2025 payments misses forms that were.

    The no-form myth. The threshold is the payer's paperwork trigger. The IRS Gig Economy Tax Center states that gig income must be reported on a tax return even if it is not reported on an information return form. Income below $2,000 from a client is reported exactly as income above it.

    The "everything is $2,000 now" overreach. Gross proceeds paid to an attorney still trigger Form 1099-MISC box 10 at $600, royalties still trigger box 2 at $10, and direct sales for resale keep their own figure. Only the rows that ride on section 6041(a) moved.

    The corporate exemption read too broadly. Payments to corporations are generally not reported, but the instructions list payments that must be reported even to a corporation, and attorneys' fees head the Form 1099-NEC list. A law firm organized as a corporation still gets its form.

    New for 2026: tip and overtime boxes

    The December 2026 revision of Form 1099-NEC adds box 1b for cash tips included in box 1a, box 1c for the Treasury Tipped Occupation Code, and box 1d for qualified overtime compensation included in box 1a, with boxes 13a, 13b and 14 doing the same work on Form 1099-MISC. They give self-employed and contract workers the statement the tips and overtime deductions require. If you receive one, the box 1b and 1d amounts are the figures to carry to those deductions; see the tips deduction guide and the overtime deduction guide.

    1099 threshold questions

    Do I still have to send a 1099-NEC for a contractor I paid $600 in 2026?

    No. For payments made after December 31, 2025, Form 1099-NEC is required once you have paid a non-employee at least $2,000 in the calendar year. $600 was the figure for 2025 and earlier payments, so a 2025 payment of $600 still needed a form filed in early 2026.

    Is every 1099 threshold now $2,000?

    No. The $2,000 figure is the general threshold in IRC section 6041(a), which nonemployee compensation, rents and other income follow. Gross proceeds paid to an attorney (Form 1099-MISC box 10) still start at $600, royalties still start at $10, and Form 1099-K has its own separate rules.

    If I earned less than $2,000 from a client and got no 1099, is the income tax-free?

    No. The threshold decides whether the payer files paperwork. The IRS states that gig income must be reported on a tax return even if it is not reported on an information return form. Your duty to report the income never depended on receiving a form.

    Will the $2,000 threshold change again?

    Yes, by indexing. IRC section 6041(h) increases the figure for calendar years after 2026, rounded to the nearest multiple of $100. The IRS instructions say the amount may be adjusted for inflation beginning in calendar year 2027. This page will carry the 2027 figure once it is published in a revenue procedure; until then, 2027 payments are treated here as undecided.

    Do card, PayPal or Venmo business payments to a contractor go on a 1099-NEC?

    No. Payments made with a credit card, payment card or through a third-party network are reported on Form 1099-K by the payment settlement entity under section 6050W, and the instructions say they are not subject to reporting on Form 1099-MISC or Form 1099-NEC. Cash, check, ACH and wire payments are the ones you report yourself.

    What are the new tip and overtime boxes on the 2026 Form 1099-NEC?

    The December 2026 revision adds box 1b (cash tips included in box 1a), box 1c (the Treasury Tipped Occupation Code) and box 1d (qualified overtime compensation included in box 1a), with matching boxes 13a, 13b and 14 on Form 1099-MISC. They exist so self-employed and contract workers can substantiate the tips and overtime deductions that run from 2025 through 2028.

    Sources & References

    Primary references used for this content

    irc-6041a-2000-threshold

    IRC §6041(a) — payments of $2,000 or more in a calendar year

    26 U.S.C. §6041(a)

    View on law.cornell.edu

    irc-6041-2025-amendment-note

    IRC §6041 amendment note — $2,000 substituted for $600

    26 U.S.C. §6041, Editorial Notes (2025 amendments)

    View on law.cornell.edu

    irc-6041-2025-effective-date

    IRC §6041 effective-date note — payments made after Dec. 31, 2025

    26 U.S.C. §6041, Statutory Notes (Effective Date of 2025 Amendment)

    View on law.cornell.edu

    irc-6041h-inflation-adjustment

    IRC §6041(h) — inflation adjustment for calendar years after 2026

    26 U.S.C. §6041(h)

    View on law.cornell.edu

    irc-6041a-nonemployee-compensation-tie

    IRC §6041A(a)(2) amendment note — nonemployee compensation tied to the §6041(a) figure

    26 U.S.C. §6041A, Editorial Notes (2025 amendments)

    View on law.cornell.edu

    irs-i1099mec-2026-whats-new-threshold

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — What's New: threshold increase

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-nec-filing-rule

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — when to file Form 1099-NEC

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-misc-thresholds

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — Form 1099-MISC thresholds

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-trade-or-business-only

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — trade or business reporting only

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-card-payments-1099k

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — card and app payments go on Form 1099-K

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-backup-withholding-any-amount

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — backup withholding requires a form regardless of amount

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-corporate-payees-nec

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — payments to corporations reportable on Form 1099-NEC

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-box-1b-cash-tips

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — box 1b cash tips

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-i1099mec-2026-box-1d-overtime

    Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026) — box 1d overtime compensation

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-gig-economy-income-is-taxable

    IRS Gig Economy Tax Center — income is taxable with or without a form

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    irs-gig-economy-not-reported-on-a-form

    IRS Gig Economy Tax Center — not reported on an information return

    Internal Revenue Service

    View on irs.gov

    ✓Rules checked September 6, 2026 against IRC §6041 and §6041A, the Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (12/2026), and the IRS Gig Economy Tax Center.

    Disclaimer: This calculator provides estimates for educational purposes only. Not tax, legal, or financial advice. Results may vary based on your specific circumstances. Consult a qualified CPA or tax professional for personalized guidance.